How important is the reel?

M

mgh-pa

I'm getting conflicting information on this subject. As many of you know, I'm new to this sport, and I'm still researching for my first outfit. I started out thinking I could get by with a $120 setup, but now I'm thinking there might be some merit to getting a nicer setup (particularly the LST from Cabelas).

I remember reading many of the suggestions on here concerning reels, and most stated that for trout fishing, the reel is more or less along for the ride, so it's not as imperative to get a big expensive reel for a beginner outfit.

Well, I talked to a fishing resource friend of mine, and he suggested, although not to go crazy and go buy a $500 setup or anything, but try to splurge for the SLA reel over the presitge plus reel that comes with the standard LST package. It adds a bit to the overall price, but he suggested it would be worth it.

So, thoughts? Get the better SLA reel, or stick with a basic reel to go with the LST rod?

depends on the size fish you're gonna be catching. For most trout, no the reel isn't important. If you're gonna be catching big fish where you need a reliable drag, then yes the reel is important.

Most of the fish i catch are 15 inch or less. For these fish i rarely even have the fish "on the reel" and when i do, i don't rely on the drag. The reel just holds the line.

If i was regularly catching 20" trout in big water, or if I was fishing for smallies or something than I'd spend more on my reel.

The presitge plus is way beyond adequate for almost any PA fishing application.

The SLA looks nice, has a large arbor, and probably a nicer drag. None of those things are needed for fishing our waters, especially for the smaller weights (3 to 6 or 7).

not sure what the alternative to the SLA is but just make sure its not the plastic composite reel. make sure its metal.