hi-vis fly

808transplant

Hey guys,
Basically, my eyes can suck, especially on covered streams where half of it is shaded and the other half in the sun. My question: take a Elk wing caddis for instance, if i were to put a bright highlight in the win, would it make a difference fish catching wide?
the way i figure, if i put a small streak of orange or white antron or craft fur in the front middle of the wing, ill see it that much better. what do you guys think?

Tying in a brightly colored post of whatever materiel is a nice way to make a fly visible. I have done it on crowe beetles, which are quite hard to see without some kind of indicator.
However, there are times and places where I think the fish can see the indicator also. I've had fish not touch a beetle with an indicator, only to strike the exact same fly that didn't have one tied in.
So I started painting bright orange or pink dots on their backs, and that seems to work a little better for me.
You could probably try that on an elk hair caddis also

808transplant............Absolutely , just be careful not to add something to the wing that will make it sink , you'll notice that in the shaded ares of the stream , in the glare , a dark fly shows up on the bright surface of the water , as a little black dot , on the other hand in the sun , a streak of orange or white in the wing is visible from a long distance. I combine a dark bodied fly with a hi-vis wing and try to cover both light situations. One more thing , if you can spot your fly at impact , as soon as it hits , it's easier to keep track of through the drift. Hope this helps a little.