Help for a new fly angler

SteveH83

Hello all. I am new to fly fishing and started out on Sherman’s creek. I have since learned about the two mile stretch of Clark’s Creek that is fly fishing only. Since I am still very new to this, I could use some help on what flies I should be using right now. I have yet to learn to read what is emerging. Any help would be appreciated. I have not caught any trout as of yet but would really like too. Thanks

I have not fished Clark's for several years. I understand that Clark's has a bunch of downed trees making access and moving up and down stream difficult. I have fished it in July-August and found that terrestrials worked. I suspect that a green weenie will also work. The only hatches this time of year might be sporadic caddis and some very tiny BWOs. Good luck

This is a difficult time of year to begin trout fishing. In the summer, many streams get pretty warm and the trout are stressed because the temps are out of their comfort zone. There are some streams that fish OK through the summer - mountain creeks, spring creeks and some tailwaters.
By the summer, there are not that many active hatches. Tricos are one. Other than that, you will want to focus on terrestrials - ants, beetles and grasshoppers. These are available to the trout all summer and into the fall. Ants are actually effective pretty much year round.
Have you considered bass fishing? It's great in the summer. It would allow you to learn casting/fishing techniques. And you're on the Susquehanna, which has great bass fishing.