Hello from MD

cpc1027

cpc1027

I just registered and wanted to say hi! I am pretty new to fly fishing, so I'm mostly here to learn. I found this site while doing research for local information, and it looks like it's going to be a good place to hang out and pick up some information, and contribute where I can.

I first started fly fishing about a year and a half ago when I read about Tenkara while researching backpacking equipment. The portability, relative simplicity, fairly inexpensive qualities all contributed to my start with Tenkara. I have been having a lot of fun with Tenkara, but I found it a little out of it's element in some of larger waters around me, such as the Gunpowder. I felt like there were fish lies that I couldn't reach with Tenkara, and so I picked up a Cabelas Prestige starter combo when they were on sale a week or so ago. I took it out for the first time this morning, and caught my first two fish nymphing with new rod in the Gunpowder. The different techniques that are necessary for the traditional fly rod (shooting line, mending, etc.) will take some learning, but I'm looking forward to it!

Thanks for letting me join the party!

Welcome to the forum. One way to start is to watch videos on casting, practice on grass or water and use this forum to ask questions.

Welcome to the Jungle!

If you are free on July 26th, we are gathering at the Little Lehigh for the Fish and Chips cookout. Lots of instruction will be available along with good food and fun!

Checkout the threads in the Fly Fishing Events and Meetups section

Dave

CPC welcome. You will never stop leaning here. I've been FF for 43 yrs. I learn new things here all the time. You will never stop learning.

GenCon

djs12354 wrote:
Welcome to the Jungle!

If you are free on July 26th, we are gathering at the Little Lehigh for the Fish and Chips cookout. Lots of instruction will be available along with good food and fun!

Checkout the threads in the Fly Fishing Events and Meetups section