Hatch Identification

F

Fly5

Last evening roughly a half hour before dark there was a decent hatch on a small stream I was fishing. I snagged one and it was a yellowish cream color, and looked to be.a size 18 or 20. Unfortunately,I am not that good at identifying yet. What was hatching? The stream is near the Berks and Lehigh Co line, not sure if that matters. Thanks for any input.

That's impossible to answer, or even make a guess at, without further information. Were they mayflies, caddis flies, stoneflies, midges or something else?

Just use a fly that is that size and color.

Most fly shops will have size 18 sulphur comparaduns, which are smallish and yellowish.

And trout like those.

Redietz, They had upright wings, so I "think" that would be a Mayfly. Unless I broke off the tails when I grabbed one, it did not have any tails. I don't think I messed up the tails however. Like I said it was a pretty good amount of flies on calm water about 40yds downstream from a riffle.

Three pics below of a mayfly - caddisfly - stonefly.

Mayflies have 2 or 3 tails and upright wings that look like a sailboat

Caddisflies have no tail and their wings wrap over their body like a tent

Stoneflies have 2 tails that stick out at a 45* angle and they carry their wings flat over their body

Midges are small in size, have no tails and their rather thin wings lay flat over their body (in the water they are often seen splayed out)

Attachments

• mayfly.jpg
    mayfly.jpg
    75.2 KB · Views: 6
  • caddisfly.jpg
    caddisfly.jpg
    68.4 KB · Views: 5
  • stonefly.jpg
    stonefly.jpg
    73.7 KB · Views: 8
  • midge.jpeg
    midge.jpeg
    81.1 KB · Views: 8