Hackle Purchase

P

pwk5017

I have been tying for two years, but have not delved too deeply into tying dry flies. One, I do not fish many dries. Two, the initial cost to begin tying dries(mainly hackle) is steep. $30-40 in nymph/streamer materials would allow me to tie hundreds of flies in the 10-12 patterns I consistently fish. It looks like a medium grade cape costs that much. Now, I am not saying I haven’t spent a couple hundred on really obscure materials over the two years, but I am still apprehensive about shelling out 50 bucks to get myself one color of hackle that I can only use for two specific patterns. If you were to purchase hackle for general purpose dries, what hackle would you purchase? Should I get 2 packs of whiting 100s to cover my needs sz12-18? Should I get a full saddle/cape? What color is going to go farthest for me? I am leaning towards the grizzly and natural dun, because it looks like those two could apply to a variety of colored patterns. I know I would be better off spending $10 at an online fly shop to suit my dry fly needs for the next 2 years, but I want to expand my tying horizons.

Grizzly first and foremost. Dun would be good but I would get a light color too like white or cream to cover sulphur patterns. The Whiting 100s are a good idea. Although I use some hackled dry flies I fish a cdc or deer/elk hair comparadun more often. Consider tying those. A lot cheaper than hackled flies.

+1 on Comparaduns. Pretty much the only Mayfly dry I now use and I catch my share of fish. I do use hackle for my caddis (brown), ants (black) and griffith's gnats (grizzly) but I think that may be all.

If you are really into trying hackle though, PM me, I have a crap load of necks I never use in all grades. I will give you a good price on what you may want. I think almost all are Metz.

My most used necks are dun and ginger - and I don't think you could go wrong buying them.