Hackle problems

Nate540

Nate540

Ok guys need a little help. I'm very new to this. I'm having all kinds of trouble with my hackle rolling over. I tie it in shiny side up pull it vertical so the shiny side is facing forward and start to wrap. By the time I make one wrap it rolls over to face the shiny side backwards. I have tried all kinds of things like stripping the topside a little to get it to start better and just simply twisting it to try to keep it forward. I've twisted it sometimes 2 or 3 times and it still wants to roll over. I'm using Whiting saddle and cape hackle. Any help would be great I'm about to throw my vice out the window.

Thanks

Nathan

I'm somewhere between a novice and an intermediate tier. I have found that wetting my fingers and sweeping the hackle toward the bend of the hook before making a wrap helps me to keep everything on track.

I've also found that I had to practice a lot and view a lot of on line videos to learn a proper technique.

I recommend videos from Jim Misiura and Ralph's Fly Box. Keep at it. In the immortal words of Allen Iverson, "Practice..."

UncleShorty wrote:
In the immortal words of Allen Iverson, "Practice..."
talkin' 'bout practice.

Do you tie in the stem crosswise? That cured my problems.

bare%20stem_zpsgfn6izwo.jpg

i only tie in the bare hackle stem as shown above and begin to wrap forward

there are times when you just simply have to man handle the feather to make it wrap the way you want

try grasping the feather closer to the tie in point rather than the tip to get it started

i dont believe trimming the hackle, leaving little stubs of fibers does anything

stubs_zpscfmtupny.jpg

and yes practice

whiting capes and saddles are nice but they are not magical

See in the above picture how the stem is tied in on this side and needs wrapped across?

I tie mine in on a diagonal, from the side to over the top so that the stem is already halfway wrapped before I even start.