getting skunked. need all your secrets.

S

somersetian

I've been chugging poppers, dragging crawdads and crayfish across the bottom, stripping streamers around structure high middle and deep and coming up empty. Been fishing early mornings, and evenings. I took my spinning gear with me yesterday and after a fruitless morning on poppers and streamers I bounced a worm off the bottom and hooked up maybe 4 casts in. I keep telling myself that its just because I am new to fly fishing for bass, and really never put much time to bass fishing in general but I need help. Whats your secret flies, techniques, leaders, tricks, weight anything your willing to share.

I've also had the experience of not doing well on the fly, switching to spin gear and hooking up much more frequently. It is frustrating, but I think it has a lot to do with the distance you can cast with a spinning rod.

One thing that makes a difference for me is paying attention to being stealthy when the water is low and clear. When wading, I have more luck when I move slowly and deliberately to a spot I want to fish, hitting that spot and moving to the next. I've been reading Clouser's book on river smallies and Ken Penrod's smallmouth book (mostly focused on spinning for them) and both of them emphasize casting to targets. Picking those targets can help the spook factor. Clouser talks about the importance of long casts for the same reason.