Gear Question/Suggestions

JesseC

JesseC

Hey All,

So I'm rather new to Fly Fishing. I have gear and kinda know what I am doing on the water. I say that loosely as I need alot of practice. But I wouldn't starve if I needed to eat. Don' worry strictly C&R for me.

My question is however.....I'm in the market for something to keep my gear in. Vest, Sling Pack, waist pack. I'm a bigger guy so I have get something that works with me.

I use spinning gear alot more not then fly. Currently trying to change that. however I do use a vest for all my spinning gear.

Just looking for suggestions. Reasonably priced of course.

I appreciate any advice given.

In the past, it was traditional to wear a vest for fly fishing but in the last generation or so, shoulder and chest packs have become much more popular. Personally, I still like and use an old school vest. My advice would be to go to a shop and handle or try on some examples of both. Much of it depends of how much stuff you like to routinely carry - fly boxes, tippets, water bottle, pliers, etc. I like to carry a lot of stuff so think about what you carry and consider the situation based on that.

Jesse,

I suggest you stop in at A & G and "try on" chest packs and sling packs. Adam or Greg would be happy to help you.

Or I can meet up with you and let you try mine. (I'm Catherine Gursky on Lack. R fly fishing on Facebook)

I have a chest pack I don't use which you can keep if you want to go that direction.

I started using an Orvis sling last year and haven't used my vest since. I've also used waist (fanny) packs and lanyards.

For me the only thing I really don't like is a chest pack which is why if you want to switch to a chest pack you can have mine.

You can keep the vest for your spinning set up and something else for fly.