FURLED LEADERS

A

atticus

I would like to try a furled leader this season ,for the first time. Would be using for dries and swinging soft hackles. Looking for recommendations on length and manufacturer. Probably using 9 foot 4 weight .

I have been using furled leaders exclusively for several years. I have tried many and there are lots of good ones out there. I fish dries and wets almost exclusively. When I'm going to nymph I have separate rods and rigs for that but only do it a few times per season.
My favorite is Zen leaders.

https://www.cutthroatfurledleaders.com/

Why are these leaders only used for dry flies? I thought that they sounded nice for use in the pads where they could be a little stronger and fling a heavier tippet.

Baron wrote:
Why are these leaders only used for dry flies? I thought that they sounded nice for use in the pads where they could be a little stronger and fling a heavier tippet.

Baron, I do exactly that. I use a furled leader on a 7 weight that I use for bass and pike, and fish streamers or top water flies as the mood suits me.

Glad I saw this thread, forgot I had to order some new ones, the couple I found years ago on a local stream(new in package!! Gift from fishing gods) are finally wearing out. I love how they cast, nice and supple. On the small streams I fish, sometimes I'm just casting the leader, it they cast wonderfully.

PennKev,
Weird name......Thanks for the lead on Clearstreamflyfishing.com. My first leader just arrived and it is very convincing looking along with the Payette Paste. I can hardly wait to try it.
if I like working with these I'll order more.......bet I'll like them.

Is it okay to not use flotant on these furled leaders? I don’t always want my leader to float. Will it cause damage to the leader if I leave it with out the paste?

You don't have to grease them. But if you grease them once, especially the thread versions they will float for awhile until all of the grease is gone.