Furled leaders.

pabrookie94

pabrookie94

Hello all,

I'm sorry if this has already been asked but I have been seeing a lot more about furled leaders recently and I have no experience with them. Could you explain exactly what one is and maybe some advantages and disadvantages? Thanks in advance!

Furled Leaders are a type of knotless tapered braided leader constructed primarily of monofilament usually ending in a tippet ring. All you need is to add is tippet and you're ready to go. Furled leaders are sold in varying lengths and are matched to a specific fly line weights. Initially cost i$12-15) is more than a regular layered leader, but will last for many years. Unless you are one of those same guys who can make a single tapered moms leader last all reason, I think will find the are are worth the price and a time saver on the water.

I believe they make a tad more of a "splash" on the top of the water. Enough to "lose" a fish, I don't know.

I've been using furled leaders for years. Their origin is the chalk stream of the UK for dry fly presentations. A properly constructed and maintained leader will last a long time. I put loon floatant on mine after every use and they will be ready the next time.
The customary length is about 5 1/2feet but they can vary a bit.
I prefer to fish dries most of the time and most often have about 4 -5 feet of tippet run off the end.
Nymphing can also be done with furled leaders but there may be better options out there if that is your primary focus.