For Complete Newbies, like myself

Motley13

Motley13

I found these series of 5 youtube videos very helpful in setting up my line. Hope it helps you out just as much as it did for me!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c8ugEgxBg6U&feature=relmfu

So good video's there, I know I could always use instruction like this.

Thanks for sharing.

I was watching these video series and got hung up on the 3rd video. In this video he ties a short 6 inch section of amnesia filament to the end of the fly line. He does this instead of using a loop on the fly line. So this 6inch section of filament is attached to the fly line via a nail not with a perfection loop tied on the other end for the leader attachment.

I think I like this as his theory for its purpose makes sense to me as a complete novice.....

Any one have any input as to the usefulness or problems with such a setup?

Pauly wrote:
Any one have any input as to the usefulness or problems with such a setup?

If you want to use a loop to loop connection from fly line to leader I definitely would suggest this setup. Two of my fly lines have welded loops (from the factory) my 3rd is setup this way. Definitely don't see any difference between the any of the lines (they're all equally bad....because of the user). I would do this before tying a loop in the fly line.

You do lose some energy transfer with loop to loop connections, but I'm willing to make that sacrafice because I often change my leaders and don't like tying nail knots on the stream.

Hope this helps.