Fly Tying Newbie

O

oreome322

Found this forum today ;-) Looking forward to reviewing it for tips and tricks. I'm not sure why it took so long for me to get into tying my own flies, but it's added such a pleasurable dimension to fishing! I normally hit the Erie tribs and venture to Pulaski, NY for salmon in October. I've been having a ton of fun learning to tie and attached some pics of stuff I've been working on... keep in mind.. i'm a newbie :)
My trout wall --missing 1 species... i'm working on it :)

Attachments

• wall.jpg
    wall.jpg
    36.3 KB · Views: 10
  • salmon.jpg
    salmon.jpg
    106.8 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_23544989776457.jpeg
    IMG_23544989776457.jpeg
    29.3 KB · Views: 3
  • ft1.jpg
    ft1.jpg
    48.5 KB · Views: 3
  • ft2.jpg
    ft2.jpg
    58.2 KB · Views: 3
  • ft3.jpg
    ft3.jpg
    36.5 KB · Views: 2
it's quite an enjoyable little hobby...but then again it's also a hell of a money pit...keep at it, though, it's well worth it.

and reviewing your flies, the only little criticism I can give is that your hackles look a little too long, which may interfere with hook-ups, but aside from that they look very good, a lot better than mine did for the first year or so.

OMG a lightning trout!! Welcome.

Newbie or not, your crystal meth and prince nymphs look really nice. On the woolly bugger use a smaller hackle and go with fewer wraps of hackle.

thanks for the suggestions guys! much appreciated!!!!

I'll most definitely work on the hackle --I always have lots of trouble with it... going to scope out a few tutorials on it... :)

thanks for the help guys!!!!!

Welcome to the forum and tying as well. You're going to spend a pile of money if it grabs hold of you... Judging by you're wall "o" carnage I'm betting it will. :-D

that salmon is very excited to see you.
also check out production fly tying by a.k best. lots of great tips for any level fly tyer.