Fly Rods vs Types Of Fishing

jbewley

jbewley

I have been reading several of the John Gierach books, that I had not read before. In one, he talks about salmon fishing and mentions trolling, as a good method.

I have no doubt that it would work, but I am not sure that a fly rod is the best rod to use. I trolling rod, with a bait casting reel would be better suited.

I, personally, feel that a spinning rod, would be better suited for streamers, unless it was for a short strip.

My point and question is not that you can not do any of these things with a fly rod, but are they the best application??

Jim

I have no experience with trolling, other than the internet type.

But regarding fishing with streamers, you could fish those with spin gear. With heavily weighted streamers it would have some advantages in being able to cast far and easily.

But when "working" a streamer with fly gear, it's common to create movement by a combination of movements of the rod tip with the right hand, and the fly line with the left hand (for right-handed flyfishers.)

With spin gear, if you tried to manipulate the 4 pound mono with your left hand in the way you do with fly line, that might not work so well. You'd likely get the mono snarled up.

I gave up throwing big flies with big gear years ago.

I just don't enjoy trying to throw heavy flies or big flies with a rod suited to throwing something that big, just so I can say I got my fish on a fly rod.

As a result, 99% of my LM bass fishing is done with baitcasting gear and I only fly fish for smallies with trout sized streamers, nymphs or small poppers.

Saltwater is totally non-fly fishing.