Fly rod

Scott1284

Hello I am new to fly fishing and was looking for a rod to start with a friend of mine who dabbles with fly fishing for trout(he takes a fly rod and spinning tackle to the trout stream) gave me a 7' fly rod is this rod ok to start with or should I purchase a longer rod thank you

You may find you're limited, but it will work. An 8 foot or 8 1/2 foot rod is more"standard". What is the line weight of the rod? Where do you fish?

If you're fishing small creeks in the area, a 7 foot rod will work just fine. If it's something that you're actually going to wade, then a 9' rod will be more ideal. The benefits of the length no only help with casting but more in managing your line on the water and having a longer reach if you're nymphing. Lots of good water in NW PA!

I would say to stick with what you have for now and see of you like fly fishing. If you end up enjoying it, I would invest in a longer rod, 9 foot or 8'6". I would also go up in weight, I started with a 5/6 weight and now I use that in ponds and lakes for bass. I got a 4 weight that I use in creeks and streams for trout. That is just my personal opinion, you will soon learn what you like/need for the fishing you do.

Good luck and welcome to a new addiction

Thank you all so much for the replys I will give it a shot headed to my camp in Potter county in a couple weeks give it a good try then

A 7' 3/4wt rod will work well on those small streams.

I love that for spinning gear for trout, a 4'6" UL is my go to trout rod, yet for fly fishing im holding a 8'6". The differences are so vast. I agree with using what you have, Nobody is the same, Im just getting started and getting a feel for whats going to work for me. I doubt ill buy a different setup until winter so I can become more aquainted with my style through this season with my cheap 5wt. Best of luck!

Good advice from Makee and as BrookieChaser stated, you'll be fine with what you have now.