Fly Fishing Rods and Reels?

Big_Tay

Big_Tay

Hey everyone I am relatively new to fly fishing and enjoy it very much!! I am starting to expand in the different types of fishing that I do. I was wondering how to pick or go about buying new reels and rods? I am starting to get interested in steel head but am not sure what length and weight of rod or size real to buy because there are so many different variations in length and weight... The same with salt water fishing? Would anyone be able to help me out or guide me when it comes to buying new rods or reels for different types of fishing.

I check this site frequently and find it very helpful!

Thanks!

For steelhead streams, a 6 or 7 wt is ideal. Generally longer is better for lifting line over currents and such to get drag free drifts. As far as action, want some backbone for fighting them, but a soft tip is nice to protect often relatively fine tippets. A 10 ft 7 wt, moderately fast action with a soft tip would be my ideal. Though I have done it with a standard 9 ft 5 wt and it's a little underpowered, but doable.

Salmon is a little different and I'll defer to others, think you'd want a heftier rod, though.

For the salt, where in the salt and what ya fishing for? That's just too wide a category. Surf fishing along the jetties? Wading the bays? Boat? Flats for bonefish and tarpon?

I'll defer to those more knowledgable, but think you're gonna get answers more in the 9 wt range.

Sorry for not clarifying. For salt water I will be fishing in a boat and from land for stripers in the ocean specifically in NJ.

Thanks for help and advice! I really appreciate it!

When I told people I was going to surf for stripers in the surf, they lead me over to the 10wt rods and pressed a 9' fast action model into my hand, then sold me an intermediate full sink line to go with it.