Fly fishing basics book

wgmiller

wgmiller

I'm a noob to fly fishing and looking to pick up a book that "covers all the bases" regarding fly fishing. An easy read that covers fly fishing for a beginner from A to Z would be the best fit as I'm not looking for ultra-technical information, just the basics. Such things as casting, different flies, techniques, etc., would be a great start. I'm mostly a trout fisherman, but will probably look at panfish or bass at some point as well.

Anyone have any good recommendations?

Check out your local library! Mine has several dozen good flyfishing books. I'd recommend anything by Tom Rosenbauer or in the Orvis Flyfishing series. I would recommend checking the basic "getting started guide" out of the library, since 90% of what it has to tell you will be old hat at the end of the year.

Some books to buy would be;
Reading Trout Streams by Tome Rosenbauer
The Orvis Guide to Prospecting for Trout by Tom Rosebauer
Diagnosing the Cast by Ed Jaworski
An Angler's Guide to Aquatic Insects and Their Imitations

These are books that you can read or refer to over and over. The Angler's guide is especially neat for a newbie because it tries to streamline a flybox by picking flies that imitate more than one hatch. It also tells you how to present the fly based on when a hatch is expected. A pheasant tail, for instance, can imitate a huge number of different mayfly nymphs. However, those nymphs will be active in different areas of the stream at different times of the year. So running through the shallow edges of a pool could be very productive on week, but the next you should be tossing it into the pocket water. On the downside, it's very technical, and I would skip all the insect identification stuff until you are more comfortable with flyfishing in general.

Enjoy your journeys through whatever books you settle on.