Fish Rising All Around Me, Can't catch them

M

melvinthefisherman

I am a PSU student and today after class I went over to a rather famous limestone stream. While I was there midges were just pouring off the water in hundreds at a time. In every direction you can see trout rising on the midges. Despite drifting magic midges size 20 on multiple fish I only had one fish rise twice and missed him both times. most of the trout seemed to completely ignore my fly, neither moving to it or away from it. What am I doing wrong???
On most of my drifts I was able to eliminate drag. Is my leader too short? I was using 8ft of 5x.
Or are the fish just not catchable. I was able to catch them the week before spring break

Well my first guess would be the fly size. I've fished many midge hatches - and a #20 fly is kinda large for that in my experience. I usually start at a size #22 - and often have to go smaller.
Also, 5x tippet is kinda large for midge fishing IMO. I usually use 6x - and sometimes even go down to 7x.

Other than that - who knows. Maybe the water was lower and clearer.
Or the fish have been getting lots of pressure in that spot.

Just curious - was there much snow around the stream today?

I agree with dryflyguy that you should have tried something smaller. I am not all that familiar with Magic Midge pattern but if you were sure that the trout were feeding on midges then you should have tried different midge patterns as well. Sometimes a small change can spark big differences in fish responses. When it comes to midge fishing I basically only carry and fish a few patterns. Zebra midges, Al's rats, Griffith's Gnats, and some tiny parachute style midge flies gets me through. Often a tiny barely weighted zebra midge or Al's Rat just floating in the film gets the job done for me.

Personally, I'm convinced that the majority of times that we don't get takes on our dries it is do to drag... ...even when we don't think we are having problems with drag.