first time going out fly fishing on little lehigh

J

johnh

I am taking my son out fly fishing for the first time. I am a beginner myself and we are learning together. If it is nice on Sunday I am planning on going to the little leigh. Any suggestions on what to use this time of the year? Thanks

Flashy eggs, pheasant tails, Prince nymphs, Wooley buggers, zebra midges, Cress bugs, scuds, Als rat, San juans, caddis larva. If ya want, stop into the fly shop andq ask what's been working.

Thanks sbecker
Will the shop be open on sun?
thanks for the advice

Now that you bring it up, I am not sure if they are open. I am sure one of the regulars will chime in and advise.

I am also a beginner (got my first rod as a christmas gift) thinking about heading up to the little lehigh on thursday. Thanks for the suggestions.

I understand winter fishing can be slow, are there any other spots where I can catch fish this time of year?

Testudo,

Welcome to the forum and your new addiction.

Try looking for brookie streams in your area. The fish commission has a list of class a wild trout streams on their web site.

Brookies tend to be more cooperative this time of year than trout in bigger streams unless its a spring creek. At least that's been my experience.

This year a size 18 caddis larvae has been my brookie go to fly.

I fished the LL yesterday and the best flies were Al's Rat size 22, zebra midge size 20. I also used a PT size 16 and dropped the Rat of the back of that.
Use plenty of weight to get on the bottom. All the takes were very soft. Don't be afraid to set the hook at any small bump.
The best time for fishing was between 11 and 2 when it warmed up a little.
Bill

Johnh I will be heading up there Sunday as well have some new flies to try. But all the staple patterns Becker said are good. I even had a few takes the other week on caddis pupae and small double bunny patterns. The fly shop is usually open till 2 on Sunday's. If there is smoke from the chimney he is open.