Fighting/Landing Steelhead

iceyguides

iceyguides

So i'm pretty new to steelheading. I just landed my first few steelhead on a 3 day trip to erie over the 2nd weekend of december. It was fun, but frustrating breaking off and losing so many fish. I landed about 1 out of every 4 i hooked. I used 3x fluro exclusively. Will 2x help me catch more fish or is a low success rate just part of the game? I think i just need to learn to put a lot less pressure on the fish. I realize losing some steelhead sort of comes with the territory-big fish on small hooks and light tackle will enevitably lead to pull outs and break offs, but i'd like to be more efficient. Anybody have good tips for fighting steelies?

iceyguides wrote:
So i'm pretty new to steelheading. I just landed my first few steelhead on a 3 day trip to erie over the 2nd weekend of december. It was fun, but frustrating breaking off and losing so many fish. I landed about 1 out of every 4 i hooked. I used 3x fluro exclusively. Will 2x help me catch more fish or is a low success rate just part of the game? I think i just need to learn to put a lot less pressure on the fish. I realize losing some steelhead sort of comes with the territory-big fish on small hooks and light tackle will enevitably lead to pull outs and break offs, but i'd like to be more efficient. Anybody have good tips for fighting steelies?

Your success rate seems to be about average to me. Make sure your tying good knots. I crapped the bed the other day because of bad knots and beat up tippett. Check your leader, hook points and Tippett often. I have caught myself fishing a hook with no point more than once.

Enjoy it!

Tie good knots and check your knots and tippet often. You won't lose many fish on fresh 2x or 3x if your knots are good. However, the nature of the shale stream beds is such that your tippet will take a beating and need re-tying and replacement more often than you might be used to doing.