Epic epically expensive

• Thread starter salvelinusfontinalis
  • Start date
salvelinusfontinalis

salvelinusfontinalis

Any of you guys have experience with epic fiberglass? Are they really worth all the hubbub and money?

I have no experience with an Epic. I have a 7' 3wt 3pc glass rod I built on a Fred Paddock Lemon Drop blank. This is by far my favorite glass rod. Other glass rods I own are a Lami yellow 703/3, a Scott F84 (old brown glass 8'4 5wt), and a Kabuto 805/3. I'll explain the connection between the Lemon Drop and the Epic below.

I don't know for sure, but I strongly suspect the Lemon Drop blank was designed by Fred P, and manufactured by CTS in NZ. Epic blanks are designed by Epic and manufactured by CTS in NZ.

My gut feeling is yes, the Epics are probably that good. I've never saw a bad review of an Epic (or any other blank manufactured by CTS).

Fonzie%20jumping%20over%20the%20shark%20on%20Happy%20Days.jpg

I have the 7.5' 4 wt. built by Shane Gray. It is an exceptional rod. There are carbon and glass rods that cost more, just as there are carbon and glass rods that cost less. Does a $500 rod fish five times better than a $100 rod? No. But I appreciate the craftsmanship of a custom rod and the Epic does everything I want it to do. I would highly recommend Cameron Mortenson's rod loan program on The Fiberglass Manifesto. Plenty of high end rods to try out, only you can determine if they are worth the hype. All it costs is the postage to send it on.

http://www.thefiberglassmanifesto.blogspot.com/p/loan-program.html

Since I'm not a rep from either company I won't say in certain terms but it seems likely to me that Epic blanks are made by CTS. You can CTS blanks for less money but you don't get the "cool" factor that Epic has manufactured.

http://ctsfishing.com/

The CTS Fiberglass blanks are the Quartz series. I have built several and in fact the rod featured on the CTS site is one of my builds. (second image in the main slider).