Elk Creek Steelhead, what equipment?

tabasco_joe

tabasco_joe

The discussion on steelhead fishing on Elk Creek has caught my interest. Maybe something I would consider planning for next year. What rod size and weights are needed? What are common flies that work? (or uncommon for that matter)

I've only be going up for a few years now and I am anything but an expert, but in my opinion, the ideal rod would be a full-flex 9.5 ft, 7-weight. I don't own one, so I get by with a mid-flex, 9 ft. 6-weight. If my son fishes with me, he gets the 6-weight and I use my fast 9 ft. 5-weight. I think a lot of people use 8-weights also, though I don't think you need a rod that powerful.

I went after steelhead for the first time this year. I used and 9ft 8wt with floating line, 3x fluro with sucker spawn & egg patterns in white, pink, & orange.

In a two day trip, I hooked into about six fish and landed 2.

As a rookie, I quickly learned to keep my hand off the reel and let the fish tire out some before even thinking about bringing him in.

DC

I'll generally echo what Jack said, although I'd opine that a 9 foot 6 wgt. is optimal. A smooth running reel may actually be just as important. So long as the water remains above 40 or so, these fish can tend to run a lot of line off a reel. On the other hand, once it gets cold, they tend to get loggy with maybe one good run in them. Then they settle in and bulldog.