Egg sucking leech

SBecker

SBecker

So as most of you know I am new to the Tying aspect of fly fishing and I have heard from some friends that Egg Sucking Leeches have been working well in NY. With a little research on line to see how to tie one, it says to use black hackle. Well of all the materials I have, I did not pick up any hackle yet. So I tied some up with Ice Chenille. Before I make a ton of these, will this be sufficient?

Attachments

• egg sucking leach with flas.jpg
    egg sucking leach with flas.jpg
    49 KB · Views: 27
  • egg leach w out.jpg
    egg leach w out.jpg
    51.5 KB · Views: 5
Yes.

Keep tying, you'll need them all!

Flash or no Flash? Does it matter?

Lead wire underneath the Chenille? .025 or .015?

Do some of both. Flash for murky water and no flash for clear.

JH

LRSABecker wrote:
Flash or no Flash? Does it matter?
Lead wire underneath the Chenille? .025 or .015?

Yes, maybe, yes, how heavy do you want it?

Ain't no rules, you mostly just wrap crap on hooks until you find something that fish like to put in their mouths.

Or, you look at what other people have already wrapped around hooks, and then promoted through word or deed. Copy theirs, but change out what you don't have for something that looks right.

Eventually, a fish'll put it in its mouth. Then you win! Make more.

Becker,

Don't sweat the details. Just like fly selection for large stocked brook trout... it's a big target. :)

Tie some of all the combos you mentioned. Use different colored thread to differentiate the different amounts of lead wire, so you can quickly identify how heavy the flies are before you select one.

tmc 9395 (size 4 , 3x heavy , 4x long ,, mmmmm wow , yeah baby !!!! tie in the marabou like a wooly bugger and just wrap it , but first use small chenile to give it a little bulk as the marabou doesn't do that well