Eastern Pa Smallmouth Bass

P

paflyfisherman

I've been a stream trout fisherman all my life. Always stop fishing when the streams warm up. Thought fishing for smallmouth will fill the void. Would appreciate suggestions of where to go other then the Susquehanna. I live near Nazareth and would like to stay within an Hours drive.

I've been a stream trout fisherman all my life. Always stop fishing when the streams warm up. Thought fishing for smallmouth will fill the void. Would appreciate suggestions of where to go other then the Susquehanna. I live near Nazareth and would like to stay within an Hours drive.
Aren't you really close to the Delaware River? Why not go there and find some smallmouths. I am no expert on Eastern PA but it can't be too hard to find smallmouth. Or the lower Lehigh River? Aren't there bass there?

There's something of a consensus among our east side WW types that smallmouth bass (SMBs) are not as prevalent in the streams in EPA and SEPA as they used to be.

My advice would be to explore smaller waters, including stocked trout streams, in the Lehigh watershed. By July, SMBs are common in most local streams. Don't expect to get a lot of the picture fish common on social media - SMBs in the upper teens - as such fish are rare in creeks. However you can expect to catch a lot of bass up to about 14" and maybe some larger ones. SMBs this size are a blast.

Pretty much every stream that's too big to hold wild browns has smallies. Current and rocks are a bonus for more smallies.

My area's a little west of you. Within an hour in this direction, you have the skuke, little skuke, swatara for sure. The skuke anywhere downstream of Auburn reservior is good smallmouth water. I'd imagine the Lehigh is good too.