dry fly trouble

AKguy

AKguy

This is my first year trying dries in eight years of fly fishing. I'm get pretty frustrated with it. Why does my leader pile up six inches in front of my fly line. It does it on a ten foot cast and a sixty foot cast. Six foot leader or twelve foot. What are your best guesses of what I'm doing wrong.

Are you using a tapered leader? It sounds like your leader is not turning over.

What size tippet for what size fly? Perhaps the leader is too light to turn over your fly.

Need more info to be able to help.

Normally have 6 to 7ft of 10lb with 2 to 3ft 5x. Anywhere from size 16 to 10. I have been putting on 6x for smaller flies

Not much of a taper there..more like falling off a table. Try a standard, out of the package knotted or knot less tapered leader. 9ft 5x is a good start.

I refuse to buy a leader when I can build one just as easy for a lot cheaper. How does 3x to 4x to 5x sound. What are your suggestions on how I should taper it.

As Tom said buying a tapered leader is the easiest way, but I too make my own leaders. Here's some info on making leaders with formulas. It should solve your problem:

http://www.flyfishusa.com/tackle-tips/leaders/about-leaders.html

Good luck.

start off with say 20 lb and end with a 2ft piece of 5x but taper it down , look up george harvey leader formula on google for a good recipe , remember when tying leaders those knots are a pain in the azz to get through the guides on rod so coat them with knot sense and the knots collect stream garbage but i use hand tied sometimes and bought ones too

AK - sounds like your leader isn't transferring the energy from your flyline to your leader. This is what is commonly called "hinging" of a leader.