Droppers already or stick with a single fly?

M

mgh-pa

As many of you know from my first post, I'm VERY new to this, but I can't help but notice how many of you fish multiple fly setups. Is this something I should bother worrying about for now, or just stick with a single fly setup? What % would you you fish a multi-fly setup vs a single? I suppose I don't necessarily want to make things to complicated early on.

mgh-pa wrote:
As many of you know from my first post, I'm VERY new to this, but I can't help but notice how many of you fish multiple fly setups. Is this something I should bother worrying about for now, or just stick with a single fly setup? What % would you you fish a multi-fly setup vs a single? I suppose I don't necessarily want to make things to complicated early on.

mgh-pa wrote(in a previous post):
I was able to get a few decent forward casts, but on two occasions (almost embarrassed to admit this), my leader/fly hooked back on my line body and/or my rod tip.

One fly is more than enough for a beginner to handle.... :oops:

lol!

Agreed. You need to get better control of your casting before going to multiple flies.

It requires "opening your loop up", which is tough to do when you're learning how to form a loop in the first place!

When the time comes, you'll know it. I think moving to multiple flies is a natural progression for many anglers.

If/When you do start a dry and unweighted dropper will be the easiest.

afishinado wrote:
mgh-pa wrote:

mgh-pa wrote(in a previous post):
I was able to get a few decent forward casts, but on two occasions (almost embarrassed to admit this), my leader/fly hooked back on my line body and/or my rod tip.

One fly is more than enough for a beginner to handle.... :oops:

lol!

Haha, good one, and well, too true.

Thanks, guys. I'm putting the cart WAY ahead of the horse here.

You'll try it anyways someday, and you'll be surprised that it works. :)