Dropped pole

SouthOutdoors

SouthOutdoors

Do I need to worry about my reel? Or not a big deal. First fly rod, so I’m still learning.

SouthOutdoors wrote:
Do I need to worry about my reel? Or not a big deal. First fly rod, so I’m still learning.

Depends on what size fish you're going after. If it's avg. size trout in the PA area then in my opinion > No. Spend more money on the fly rod and get a simple avg reel for your rod. For fish in the PA area the reel mainly just holds the fly line on. You can normally fight the fish without using the real at all in some cases or reel in the line while holding the fly line against the rod.

If it's larger fish, well someone else can chime in on that.

My take here, is that maybe the OP dropped his "pole"

If it happened in the water, no big deal.
Remove the spool and dry it out when you get a chance.

If it happened on dry land, I'd remove the spool and see if any grit got inside. Clean it out before using again.
And check for any possible damage

Rods and reels are tools. I am pretty rough on them. They get banged around climbing over rocks, falls, drops, bushwacking etc. I have 2 reels that get used 90% of the time. A 30 year old aluminum Sage reel and a ~15 year old plastic cabelas reel. Both have more nick's dents and scratches than i care to admit to causing. They function fine.

As has been said above, reels are just line holders for PA trout. Little need for strong drags. I put all my fish on the reel and dont ever recall a problem other than occasional sand or dirt. You notice it right away and a 2 minute on stream cleaning is all that is needed.

https://midcurrent.com/videos/choosing-the-right-fly-reel-with-kelly-galloup/

In general, fly reels are pretty tough. Can't say I've ever actually broken one by dropping it. The most frequent case for me is I slip, and realize I'm going down, and the rod gets tossed to free up my hand to catch myself. I think I've done more damage to my wrist, than my reels, by doing this.