Dave K.....Site is so S-L-O-W!

afishinado

afishinado

Staff member
Dave,

The site has been progressively getting slower, and the last few weeks have been excruciatingly slow. I check in at all times of day and night, and see no pattern. It was slow today at 5:30 am Sunday morning, so I doubt it is an issue of busy servers at Go Daddy. Also few other PAFFers were logged into the site. My computer works well with all other Internet sites and functions, and I am connected with FIOS. I deleted my cookies and temp files too, but that hasn’t helped. I’ve been bumped out many times lately waiting for the next thread to load, or submitting a post. I now open another window when to work on something else while waiting for the site to load.

We seem to be headed for the same fate as in August / September 2006 when you had to reinstall the site. I have a theory, but keep in mind I have no knowledge of how the site works or is set up. Is it possible that all the archived photos, posts and stream reports as they accumulate, slow down the site? When you reinstalled the site last time and dumped all the archived files, the site immediately ran faster, yet the server connection from the provider (Go Daddy) didn't change - at least to my knowledge.

Like I said, I am no expert and can only give you the symptoms. What’s your diagnosis….….What’s the prognosis?………What’s up Doc?!?

Thanks for your help Dave, I know it's a PITA.

I have been patient to bring this up too, but I have experienced the same, although for me it has only been one week. I am moving this thread, however, to the Site Comments forum, which is where this belongs. Dave checks that forum regularly.

I agree, it way too slow. I find i'm not spending as much time on the site because of it.

Me too, I've been timed out a good bit!