completely new to fly fishing

enfausn

enfausn

Hey all, I'm completely new to fly fishing and just got out on the yellow breeches in new cumberland for the first time yesterday. I grew up bass fishing in the susqehanna and pinchot but fly fishing for trout is completely new to me. I've managed to cast well enough to get the fly out there but haven't accomplished much more then that I'm afraid.....LOL. If anyone has some pointers they'd be willing to share I'd be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

read -every book you can find on the subject including some with heart-like Bergmans Trout
Decide now if you want the fun of reading and self teaching or skip a few years and hire a guide a time or two.Remember that amateurs teach amateurs to be amateurs-you can learn a lot from fellow fisherman-especially here but- don't get locked into everything you see here or on the stream.
If you are lucky to hook up with a buddy thats pretty advanced treasure him and a few drinks never hurt
just my feeling-others will differ-part of the fun.

I would also recommend looking on you tube for instructional videos about casting, how to rig, knots etc, you can go at your own pace and its cheaper than a book. After that and just be on the water, there is no right or wrong way, just the basics will catch you fish. I would start with streamers, i.e. woolly bugger, strip, dead-drift, let them hang in current seams etc. This way you become acquainted with how the line interacts with the water and how the feel of a fish on your rod will feel, honestly it is the fastest way to get to know water and your rod.

In addition to what has been said, there are bound to be a few Trout Unlimited and/or FFF chapters within reasonable distance of you and at those you can probably find people willing to mentor you.

One warning, however, some people are very secretive about their fly patterns and their favorite fishing places. In most if not all instances, the secrecy about fly patterns is rubbish.