casting streamers?

fishingkidPA

fishingkidPA

yesterday on the opening day of trout, i usually never use streamers and i am also new to fly fishing. I usually use drys and nymphs, which are alot lighter than streamers when wet. when i was casting my streamer it was hard because it was so heavy so i couldnt keep my cast going good, and i got a not in my fluorocarbon leader :( should i just roll cast them or what?
any help is appreciated!

but i did catch a big big brookie on east branch of spring creek with my wooly bugger :)

As an avid streamer fisherman I built my rod collection around the streamers.
2s and 4s both weighted took an 8wt.
6s and 8s weighted 6wt. .this makes for pleasant fishing,not forcing the issue.
You can use a 6wt 9' rod for nymphs but a little much for dries-lol
Big thing is if you are serious about streamer fishing you want to go with sinking line[density depends on water fished]and short leader.
Two feet of taper,3ft of tippet-replace tippet if you get a knot.
what I am babbling on about is streamer fishing is most fun when you equip for it.Easy to do if you carry a spare spool but not a lot of fun if you are under gunned rod wise.
So if you expect streamer fishing will be your approach for the day take a rod geared for the size and wt. of streamers you plan to use-you can always put a floating line on your reel if you change your mind midstream and still have fun with the nymphs or dries but too lite a rod for the streamers can take the fun out of it.good luck..

As Pete said, the streamers you are fishing may be a little too big, heavy, or wind resistant to cast easily with the rod you fish. Fish some smaller streamers if necessary.

When casting streamers, the timing of your cast is very important. Don't rush your forward cast, wait until you feel the line loading the rod on your back cast before making your forward cast. In other words, let the line almost straighten completely. Also, do as little false casting as possible.