Building a rod this winter

KeithS

KeithS

Short and sweet:
Can I get any experienced opinions on these blanks?

http://store.hookhack.com/Two-Piece-Blanks/products/741/

http://store.hookhack.com/Four-Piece-Blanks/products/742/1/0

http://store.seviermfg.com/product.php?xProd=30&xSec=18

Thanks for the help in advance.

There are a few guys on here that have built poles, I personally don't have any experience with PAC bay, but I would look at the rod building forums and search them. That would prob get you your best answer, for them and dsmith1477 said he likes the tiger eye poles. He will prob give you a word on them.

Good luck and let's see it when it's done!

I have built a fair share of Pac Bay and Batson blanks. Not bad rods for the $.

I am in the process of building a rod from a 4/5 wt tiger eye blank now. After the 4/5 wt I will be building a rod from a 3/4 tiger eye blank. This is only my second build and I have no experience fishing them but herd good things in the rod building section of the North American Fly Fishing site. I held it up to my early 90s vintage St. Croix and they look the same. As an inexperienced builder, I wanted a reasonably priced blank. Also, both rods are for beginners. When finished, I plan to test the blanks using the Common Cents System.

Don

Thank you. The tiger Eye looks interesting.

dsmith, is your rod a 2-piece or 4-piece? How would you rate the bend, tip flex, mid flex,...?

The last 4 rods built, were Pac Bay Quickline.
They are some pretty sweet blanks.

I can attest to Jim Batson's Rainshadow blanks. In general I think you'll find their ratings high and they are not much more expensive. If you want to get an alternative to the 3 choices you have listed, check them out here;

http://www.jsflyfishing.com/cgi-bin/item/RK-010202-0000/41100/J.-Stockard-Rainshadow-Fly-Rod-Building-Kit---2-piece.html