Broken Fly Rod Question

D

dave1918

Hello,

First real post...
Ive been lurking around for a while reading many of the topics and learning a lot as a newbie.... but a problem has arisen.

I broke my Redington pursuit 4 weight 4 pc while fishing... not sure how it happened but it did. It broke about 3-4 inches from the tip. The rod has a lifetime warranty, but their is a 30 dollar fee plus the cost of shipping to WA. All told it would cost be almost half of what a new pursuit runs for. Are their any other options for fixing/replacing the rod? Is it possible just to buy the top section of the rod and replace it?

I am a graduate student with no money... and really have no buisness even fly fishing as its too expensive.... but now i am addicted and rodless!

Dave

Sure - it will change the action of a rod a tiny bit, seeing as you've shed 3-4 inches, but you can just buy a tip-top and epoxy it on. Just size the diameter of the rod to the tip top.

Fly rod tip tops link. Of course, until you buy the tip top and epoxy and get it shipped, you'll have laid out a portion of the cost to have it repaired. With any luck, you can find a local rod builder that can take care of it for you.

Fly fishing need not be any more expensive than the other diversions in life. Being a graduate student, you probably DO need it as a diversion :)

Dave, where did you buy the rod? My brother once lost the tip section of his Reddington rod. He bought it at Gander Mtn. and he went there to see if he could buy the section. They took the rod from him and gave him a new rod............don't know about anywhere else........didn't cost him a cent.......good luck

Hi Dave,
If Biggie's option doesn't work out, I'll second Salmonoid's.