Boat for fly fishing the Chesapeake Bay?

Deuterium

Deuterium

I have just started to consider a boat for fly fishing the Chesapeake. I've never owned a boat and have just fly fished from a boat with guides. As a newbie, I am interested in reading some basic information ranging from types of boats to consider, how to keep it when not in use (I am not interested in trailering it), boat safety and operation courses etc.

Any help would be appreciated.

One of the best boats for fly fishing would probably be a center console ie the classic boston whaler (lots of other manufactures). You want to look at a boat with a fair amount of freeboard ( the sides of the boat aren't too low, and then you have to decide on skiff type (flatter bottom), or v hull. Lots of opinions on whats better. Also consider anything else you want to use the boat for, which might lead you to look at certain styles. If you don;t want to trailer, you either need an in-water slip or have the boat in dry storage. Dry storage is when the marina pulls your boat out after each use, and puts it in a big barn. You call ahead of time and they will have it in the water for you. This cuts down on stuff growing on your boat and the wear and tear of being in saltwater all the time. Look at what the fly fishing guides are using, they are using those boats for a reason, they work for having paying fly fisherman on the boat. Hope this gets you started.

erik

Thanks for your thoughts. You raise an interesting suggestion about guides boats. While I have done some salt water fly fishing from boats, mainly in Florida and New England, I have only done this once on the Chesapeake. As I view this exercise as a long term goal, one thing worth doing (and fun) is to book a number of guided trips on the Bay.

So I will add another thread to ask for recommendations on guides for the upper Chesapeake.