Blood Knots on tippet

E

EA88

i im new to the sport like i said in my last fourm but i have alot of trouble tying blood knots in tippet to the leader is there any easier way to ty in the tippet

I prefer the blood knot with tippet/leader sections in 3X or larger. Below that, I switch over to the surgeon's knot. Let me see if I can find the tutorial.

Ah-ha, here it is: Surgeon's Knot Step-By-Step Instructions

thanks i just tryed it works great and is so much easier to ty in light tippet

While I prefer the blood knot but ...every once in a while, like after dark and when I'm in a big hurry...i use the Surgeons Join I have used it because my hands were cold, because I was lazy or because I wanted to drastically change from something like a a big fat bugger to a dry fly, right now. It hasn't failed yet.

I use the double surgeons knot (three times through) all the time. I don't see any difference in knot strength between that and the harder to tie blood knot.

I use a nonslip mono loop for tippet connections. If I buy commercial leaders, I'll clip the line 24" from tippet end--mono loop both ends and loop together. With your extra tippet spools, mono loop the ends--when tippet gets too short (or if you want to change tippet size) you can clip off the short tippet at the mono loop, discard (in your pocket), pull off desired length of new tippet and loop on to leader.

afishinado wrote:
I use the double surgeons knot (three times through) all the time. I don't see any difference in knot strength between that and the harder to tie blood knot.

Just want to clarify that the reason I use blood knots on the heavier portion of the leader is because the surgeon's or double surgeons is not a linear knot, meaning that the section will join at a slight angler, sometimes refered to as a "hinge." With the more narrow tippets from 4X down, it isn't quite as noticeable. I honestly cant say that the "hinge" makes a difference with the thicker leader sections, I just think it does.