Best brookie waters near SE PA?

C

callmestu

I'm still fairly new to fly fishing and the vast majority of my experience has been on Valley Creek so far. I have all day Sunday and was hoping to get some brook trout, as all I've caught so far are browns. I'm up for a 1.5-2 hour ride from the Lansdale area, any recommendations? If y'all don't want to give out stream names on here I understand, figured I'd give it a try though. I have a few in the Jim Thorpe area I was considering but saw a few older posts from Swattie87 recommending against fishing those solo. I have a Garmin inreach if that makes a difference for the more remote streams and I don't mind a hike.

Thanks!

I would keep eye open for these in the Jim Thorpe area.
I saw this one yesterday.
349332026 278646664598749 665387723669353837 n

That's a gorgeous black phase rattler.
That's a fine specimen of a black phase. I've seen several in my travels over the years, but I'm still waiting to see a yellow phase, which I think are prettier. I've never seen one in the wide open like that, usually in the ferns.

That's a fine specimen of a black phase. I've seen several in my travels over the years, but I'm still waiting to see a yellow phase, which I think are prettier. I've never seen one in the wide open like that, usually in the ferns.
It was coiled in the grass. Most likely we wouldn't have noticed it, but it hissed. It did not rattle.
20230524 161251

Interesting. I've come across many rattlers in my outdoor adventures and I'll add my 0.2 cents about them.

In Central PA where I live I almost always see yellow phase. Black phase don't really seem to exist here in Mifflin and Huntingdon counties.. In NC PA I have never seen a yellow phase and they are always black phase.

I agree, yellow phase are prettier.

Not trying to hijack the thread, but here is a lovely yellow phase I nearly stepped on back in 2017 near the Mifflin/Centre county line on the Mid-State Trail. It didn't rattle, move, nothing.