bass rise

YorkFlyGuy

YorkFlyGuy

I have been ffing for a couple years and am starting to get into some warm water activity. After fishing mostly for trout, I am a little unsure of the actions of bass that I would like to make my target. I know streamers work great and poppers for top strikes, but will bass react to a hatch like trout do with a sudden start and stop of rising to top water bugs?

I know bass like terrestrials more too, is there a time when fishing them will be more productive (of day, of the year)?

Thanks for any help in advance.

I see smallies do it all the time...largemouth will also but I have not seen it as often. Whenever the bugs are on the water...just like hoppers for trout.

I found this post helpful last year. There was another too but could not find it.

http://www.paflyfish.com/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=4796&forum=16&post_id=45072#forumpost45072

Smallmouth fishing is pretty cool and for people in warm water area like SWPA- you dont have to travel do get into some good water.

YFG,
A big component to consider is whether you will be fishing rivers or lakes. I much prefer rivers/creeks for FFing for bass. For one thing, being able to see fish (just like trout fishing) matters a lot with bass success and most of our state's bass rivers are shallow - and get shallower during the summer months with bass dispersing throughout the shallow runs and riffles. Lakes, by contrast, will see bass much deeper during the warmer months. You certainly can have a blast bass fishing with a fly rod in lakes in the summer but you will be spending a lot of time chasing largemouths in the very early morning and evening and around a lot of rooted vegetation which will require somewhat heavier fly gear. Obviously, there are exceptions to this but you will find this often the case. If you lack a boat, lakes get even tougher to fish.