A dozen scuds

JakesLeakyWaders

JakesLeakyWaders

Here are a few of the scuds I tied last night. I've been tying for two years and I get the vise out occasssionally maybe a few times a month.

I realized last week fishing my boxes are getting empty, I try to just tie them well enough that they are fishable.

I used zip-lock bag for backs, some glitter glue on a few of them and some copper or gold wire and weighted them with lead.

Attachments

• dozen scuds.JPG
    dozen scuds.JPG
    202.3 KB · Views: 14
Very Nice. I especially like the ones the hair dubbing out the front of the fly, much like legs.

I did a dip seine for the first time last week, I've gotta say the ones to the right column look very much like the Little Lehigh scuds.

I tied a bunch of the Heck Simple Shrimp with raffeta backs.

not bad there, the ones on the right should get em in the LL.

I'm trying for a pattern that will work on Big Spring and Letort since I'm fairly close. I've decided that I need to challenge myself little more and my goal is to land a trophy on both BS and Letort. Or at least I'd like to catch more than one or two small trout per outing.

The other week I noticed my selection is pretty weak for the limestones. I had a bunch of generic looking scuds and even a few rusty hooks in my box, it's time for spring cleanup.

My patterns get better and then I copy the ones I like the best. Last night was like a test run just trying different colors styles. I am running low on hooks right now, think I'll pick some up soon as I get a chance, I got a few items on the short list to pick up for tying.

JakesLeakyWaders wrote:
I'm trying for a pattern that will work on Big Spring and Letort since I'm fairly close. I've decided that I need to challenge myself little more and my goal is to land a trophy on both BS and Letort. quote]

Looks to me like you're ready. :)

Got to agree those will catch fish.

Jake, nice flies. They make mine look ugly.