Zippered Waders

G

GStan

I'm interested in getting waders with a zipper. I would like to spend, if possible, $250-$300. Any recommendations?

I recently bought a NRS dry suit on sale for > $750.00.

I wade difficult water so staying dry and warm is paramount.

I have no experience with zippered waders but I would buy the best you can afford.

As the old saying goes: "You get what you pay for."

My dry suit does have a zippered relief. I have yet to use it when it matters.

Canoetripper wrote:

I have no experience with zippered waders but I would buy the best you can afford.

I have to hand it to you, I have yet to see someone fishing in a wet suit... I am genuinely curious, do you wear the wetsuit inside waders or just wear the wetsuit as intended?

lycoflyfisher wrote:
Canoetripper wrote:

I have to hand it to you, I have yet to see someone fishing in a wet suit... I am genuinely curious, do you wear the wetsuit inside waders or just wear the wetsuit as intended?

A dry suit isn't exactly like a wet suit. They are more or less full coverage waders (upper and lower). I've seen coldwater kayakers wear them as well as a few saltwater surf anglers. Below is an example of what a dry suit is all about.

https://www.outdoorplay.com/nrs-extreme-drysuit?gclid=CjwKCAiA4rGCBhAQEiwAelVti3esGR8FGWjVFF3gl1S2YskDyyDyTcir30omj_iil881Beqce9qq9hoC8T4QAvD_BwE

The only zippered waders that I could find in your price range was the Redington Escape Zip Waders. They cost $300. The next least expensive zipped waders that I could find were the Simms Freestone Z Waders which cost $400.

2 years ago I wanted to try zippered waders. I bought a pair of Cabelas zippered waders to see if I would like zip's. Well I do, I love getting in and out of them. Yet alone the releaf factor. The cabelas are still going strong. but as soon as they blow out and leak , I'm getting a pair of Simms. I have another pair of Simms guide waders and a pair of L L bean waist high's.