zelon wings

GenCon

GenCon

I have used zelon for parachute post and small comparaduns in the past and it works very well. Then a few weeks ago while at the tying jam. I was listening to Mike " frequent tyer" talking about the importance of wings on dry flys and how it is the first thing a trout sees as a fly is drifting down steam is the wings. It got me thinking about parachute's. I know there is ways to do a split wings on a parachute. But I have always found them to be a pain. Zelon is very easy to work with. So I started playing around with it. When I tie emergers or sparkle duns anything with a trailing shuck I tie the zelon on in a small loop. I just think it looks more natural. So why not do a loop wing on a dry. This is a size 16 BWO. I have a ways to go to perfect it but I like it. What do you folks think?

GenCon

Attachments

• bwo3.jpg
    bwo3.jpg
    79.2 KB · Views: 10
  • bwo12.jpg
    bwo12.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 3
Looks fine to me.
I'll bet it catches fish

Creative, very nice tie. I also use Zelon sometimes for my wings on midges and shucks as well.

That's a great idea, Mike. It should definitely help to achieve the wings in the "cone of vision" of the trout that Mike was talking about at the Jam as well as that great "riding in the film" look from underneath that you get with the parachute style tie. Could be a great combination. Good luck with it!

Thanks guys. Will have to give them a try. You know the true test.

GenCon

dc410 wrote:
That's a great idea, Mike. It should definitely help to achieve the wings in the "cone of vision" of the trout that Mike was talking about at the Jam as well as that great "riding in the film" look from underneath that you get with the parachute style tie. Could be a great combination. Good luck with it!

Thanks John, thats what I was going for. I think they will work in small sizes. 16 and down. I don't know how the wings would hold up if they were larger.

GenCon

dryflyguy wrote:
Looks fine to me.