Wissahickon Hatches???

A

anwhite80

Hello,

This is my first post on this site and I'm also fairly new to trout fly fishing. Anyway, I live in Philly close to the Wissahickon and try as I might I'm unable to match the hatch and figure out what the rainbows and browns are eating! So far I've only been successful with BH black stonefly nymph #14 but I see lots of trout taking something off the top of water every night. I've tried BWO #20, Griffiths Gnat #20, Elk hair caddis dry #12/14, ant #18..attractor fly # 16....can't figure it out! I do see tiny little gnat/mosquito looking insects flying around from stream side hatches (i have nothing that small) as well fairly large yellowish insects that come out around 7-8 o'clock. caddis? The worst part is watching spin casters with lures (or worms, even worse) come out and pull in 5 trout within an hour's time while I'm out there for 3 hours with nothing. Should also mention I've been using a 4 weight rod/line with 6X leader/tippet Someone plese help! Any advice would be great! Thanks,

Andrew :-(

Put on a PT, Brassie, Zebra midge, Hares Ear anywhere around 12-18. Then set the right depth for the water your fishing and put on a pinch on foam indicator and youll be showing the spinfishermen how its done.

we've all been there..still am!!..but it seems like you're trying a lot of stuff....The yellow fly may be sulphurs, doubt it's caddis. Caddis have the tent type wings and fly very awkwardly. Try a caddis pupae. i'm getting more into using the pupa...check this link...

http://www.flyfishusa.com/flies/cadlarva-7.htm#Emergent%20Sparkle%20Pupa,%20Green

easy to tie to..Perhaps try using a #24 griffith's gnat or an "i can see it" midge will solve the "mosquitoes" or midges you are seeing. Try a caddis with the midge behind it if you cant see it. Also make sure you get that dead drift....no need for 6x on all those flies you are using too. (my opinion anyways). If all else fails throw em' the white bugger and hold on....