Wire underbody vs. bead/cone head

wgmiller

wgmiller

I'm just getting into this tying thing, so pardon me if this question has been covered before or is basic. I have a question regarding using a wire underbody versus a bead or cone head for adding weight to a fly.

From a cursory glance, the only drawback I could see to using a wire underbody is that it would add "body" to the fly. Adding other materials on top of that could create a body too large. A wire underbody seems to be a more uniform weighting of the fly versus weighting it in the front.

So to boil it all down, how do you determine whether to go with a bead/cone head or weight the fly through the body?

Thanks in advance for the feedback...

personally i use beadheads more then anything else. the fish dont know what got the fly in front of them. and the ones i tie with wire really arent that much larger then usual

I go as heavy as I can without making the fly look junky.
They have really small lead too. Plus I use twist-ons lead strips for certain things.

I also use bead heads as well. I do find cone heads to off balance the fly, but not while fishing, but rather casting.

For a size 12 hares ear I'll use .20 lead wire with a beadhead.

The heavier the better for me. Less weight to put on the leader. I fish Penns alot which is a place were very few people get there nymphs deep enough to be very effective.

I use both. I mainly use beads for flash, not weight. Tungsten beads cost more than lead wire and brass beads, so that's the route I usually take.

Lead is cheap. Beads are not. Beads are flashy. Glass beads are cheap and flashy.

Glass beads, lead underbody. I'm a skinflint.

any kind of metal bead/conehead will make the fly more like a jig, where as a nice lead or wire wrapped under body will keep the looking like a fly under water a moving more level.