Wire Leader Barrel Sleeves Help?

greenghost

greenghost

I'm new to pike and musky fishing. I ordered Scientific Anglers Predator leader from Orvis so I wouldn't have to tie my own. The leader came with small sleeves (see pic) with this description: "Flies attach easily with heavy-duty black single-barrel sleeves." There was no instruction on how to "easily" attach the flies. I assume some crimping is involved? I Googled it and couldn't find anything except crimping that involves a special tool. Is that what I need? I have no idea. I then sent Scientific Anglers an email request for instruction. No response. I then chatted with Orvis online. The rep was very nice and said he would look into it and send information. All he could find was general stuff. Does anybody know how to use these barrel sleeves to attach a fly or snap? Thanks ahead of time!

Attachments

• thumbnail.jpg
    thumbnail.jpg
    17.2 KB · Views: 20
They are crimp sleeves, you'll need a crimper (a whole other challenge to choose one if you go that route).

The other problem with crimps is changing flies. Sometime I just crimp on a snap clip and use the clip to attach my flies.

HOWEVER...

I use Surflon 7x7 13lb Coated Stainless in black for all of my Pickerel fishing.

I use an Albright knot to tie the Surflon to my fluorocarbon fishing line and either a Palomar or Figure 8 knot to tie the Surflon to my fly.

I don't know how flexible the 7x7 wire in the Sci Angler leader is but if it isn't too heavy, it will probably knot pretty well.

One thing you should consider when fishing wire leaders is a GOOD pair of fishing pliers to cut and pull the wire.

If you want to buy crimpers and want a good pair, look at Jinkai (what I use most often) although they are NOT small in size. If money is no object, take a look at the LOOS Locoloc 1-3-SBHS.