Wild brookie streams near Philly?

C

Clams

Hi, guys, I'm a beginner fly fishermen and I was wondering if anyone could recommend any wild brook trout streams within an hour or 2 (or closer) to Philadelphia. I know that there are a lot of streams up north towards Allentown, but its tough to figure out which ones are accessible, etc. I've done all of my fishing for browns and rainbows so far and I'd like to try and catch some brookies, especially since I just did a research project on PA brook trout for school.

Thanks for any info!
- Mason

anyone ever fished northkill creek in berks county?

^ You're on the right track.

Yes.

Segloch Rn in SGL, Lancaster Co.; Hammer Ck in the stocked section above RT 322, Lancaster Co; Furnace Ck, Berks Co above Robesonia where the reservoir property has been open to walk in fishing for years ( but we have not checked that for at least three years so pay attention to any newer signage that might be contrary to my observation regarding access ), Northkill Ck, Berks Co in SGL above Shartlesville; Sixpenny Ck, Berks Co in French Ck State Park. There is also a wild Brook Trout stream on private land in Conshohocken, but the fish are too few to make fishing worthwhile. The population is barely hanging on. It is just nice to know that they are there, especially given the location and the fact that a transfer of fish from another wild Brook Trout stream about a decade ago started this reproducing population.

Thanks for the info, mike. I went up to northkill today and caught a few brookies, but nothing in the stream seemed to be more than 4 inches long. I'll be keeping an eye out for something a little closed to home

Big flies catch big fish.

Clams,
In the northkill most brookies are small, it is very infertile.
I did however catch an 8" one out of there just 2 weeks or so ago.
What are your expectations?