What to use/ When to use it?

mjv180

mjv180

I am relatively new at fly fishing and I am catching fish but not consistently. It seems more like luck. I have had good luck with the basic nymphs woolys, caddis larvae, midge larvae and mayfly larvae. But I seem to just be guessing all the time and am wondering if anyone has early season or late season specific flies. I have studied the hatch patterns but if nothing is rising then this seems to be futile. I know there is no perfect answer and this is our consistent battle but any pointers on productive nymph patterns would help. I fish Neshannock, Loyalhanna, Dunbar, Little Mahoning, and any other good stream in the southwest region.

On those particular streams you mentioned- stocked waters for the most part- you could use, sucker spawn, bugger's all colors deaddrifted and on the swing,general nymphs- beaded and unbeaded like haresear,pheasent tails,greenweenies,san juan worms.

Work them with shot and adjust the depths of the them- add and subtract weight and flies till you find something the'll take. (especially if you know there are trout lying where your casting)

Another real help is to see what bugs are hatching or in the water or air and try to identify them or at least match it as best you can.

You could try a strike indicator and adjust that up and down to vary depth of your drift too if you have'nt yet.

In general, this should help.

good advice is to check to the hatch charts before you go to the stream , and even if there is a mayfly hatch that day (BWO or something), you always know that you are going to be looking for mayflys, so you could use an attractor (Adams, etc)

Here is how I was taught to read the water and pick my starting flies. Upon arrival, I take a peek in the stream, by turning over a few rocks to see whats crawling on them. then compare whats there to your fly box. Get something close and start with that.