What To Throw When Nothing Is Biting

M

mknaak

I've been a converted worm dipper for about 15 years now. I am by no means an expert, but was wondering what you guys throw when nothing is bitting. It seems to me the best times of the day to fish are early morning and sunset. I can walk for mile and pick up one fish between these times, but the sun starts to set and bam. I often theorised that it is because the stock trout are fed by timers 2x a day, mornign and evening. Anyway any suggestions on what to use would be helpful.

I like to throw buggers when nothing is showing...hare's ears for nymphs and caddis dries or Adams when I see rises but have no Idea what for. Thats just me. You'll have your favorites after a while and thats what you'll use.

Zoo Cougars are my new favorite.

Up until last year I was a dedicated streamer fisherman when drys wouldnt work. Now I use nymphs as much as I use streamers. My favorite/ easiest to tie nymph is a beadhead about size 14-16 with pheasant tail for a tail, brown rabbit hair for the body and then wrapped with copper wire to for the segmentation. I call it my when I'm just looking for a strike from anything fly. On monday I fished a hole with about 8 fish in it and they wouldnt chase the streamer, I tied that on and landed 7 of the 8.

But other then that I'd say when things are slow and your know there are or should be fish in a particular whole just start nymphing and youll be pretty suprised at how many more fish youll pick up.