What dry flies for my box

G

greenhead55

Guys, I am fairly new to tying and haven't tackled dry flies yet. However I would really like to have a box of dry flies to take to the stream with me. I haven't been lucky enough to get one on the top yet. I will be fishing Western PA streams for the most part. I know each stream has different insects but what flies would be all around and help me to build a nice box ? Where should I purchase them ? Size and type please. I appreciate anyones help and info. Thanks again !

I'm a somewhat beginner as well, and I don't tie at all. I just try to buy a variety of sizes in a variety of different patterns. Normally I just buy a few at a time, and something different everytime. So as you get better at identifying aquatic insects on the water, your pattern selection starts to grow as well. I sometimes go to a fly shop or Gander Mt. right after fishing and try to find colors and sizes that matched what were on the water that day and buy a few varieties. I don't always know the name for the bugs I see on the water, but I always note the size and color and what I think they might look like from below the surface. I feel that if you can match what the flies looks like, it doesn't seem to matter what their names are to the trout. After a few months of doing this, you will find your box to be filling up quite quickly, not only that, but the constant studying of the insects on the water will teach you alot as well.

I have purchased flies from Mike Heck. He is fireandfeather on the board. He ties good flies and I have had the opportunity to have him as a guide for a day on Falling Spring. He has monthly specials on his website where you can get an assortment of different flies for a pretty low price. These will be better than most of the mass-produced flies you can find elsewhere.

his website is: www.fallingsprings.com

I'd start off tying ants beetles and ants #14 and #16.
Then tan and gray caddis size #14 and #16