What are you tying to get ready for the Spring season?

ryguyfi

ryguyfi

Do you spend all winter tying just about everything for the season, or do you just tie for the first month or so and then tie as you know certain hatches are coming up.

I'm still getting used to everything, so I tie up a bunch of GRHE's, Princes, and PT's; a few familiar dries, griffiths gnats, BWO's, Sulphurs, Adams; and some streamers and buggers. I'm usually behind and scramble about 2 weeks before opening day to tie about 50 flies lol.

What's everyone elses habits in tying to get ready for the season?

There is no "season" for me. I tie and fish, fish and tie all year.

I'm relatively new to fly tying though - so i get such a kick out of catching fish on flies i tied - what i'll do is tie 6 of a new pattern, take them out the next time fishing - if i catch fish on it, I'll tie a dozen more...and then try a new pattern. Its gotten so I need to buy more fly boxes.

I have already started:
Green drake nymphs and wiggle nymphs
sz 12 & 14 BH FB pheasant tails
Kern Special PT's
Isonychia nymphs
More of my killer foam extended body coffin flies
The dry fly pattern that I have posted before
My new assending caddis pupa
More of the frogs and peeper patterns that I posted in the "warmwater" section.

I will also tinker with a new foam hopper pattern. (and probably a handful of new patterns).

I am new to tying as well and although I have not fished any of my patterns yet I am anxiously awaiting warmer weather to do so. I just finished up Mike Heck's book and order the material to tie up some of his emergers as well as material to start dry flies.
I just finished tying :
pinket pins
pheasent tails
GRHE
stone flies
numerous streamers and sow bugs

Like Trowpa stated I need more boxes to hold everything when I hit the streams!