Wet flies

F

Fourweight

Looking for some input on wet flies, please and thank you.

Want to add a few to the fly box and was wondering about, maybe top 6 that I should have?

Fish all over NW PA and a lot in the Seven Springs area.

Keep your powder, martinis and trout flies dry,

Fourweight

leadwing coachman

I am a big fan of soft hackles. Grey Hackle Peacock, March Brown Spider, Partridge and Pheasant Tail, Partridge and Green, Starling and Purple... just a few of my favorite soft hackles.

I would never be caught without a couple more traditional wets. Leadwing Coachman, Cowdung, Alder, Light & Dark Hendricksons.

For most of NWPA, the dominant hatch is usually caddis.

For starters, try adams wet, and soft hackles in various colors. But take that with a grain of salt.

I'm not good at fishing wets, but I remember almost 20 years ago an old timer kicking my butt on Tionesta Creek. Trout were "rising," but I was getting nothing. He was catching one after another. He was nice enough to show me what he was using (soft hackle). He may have even given me one, but I still didn't do well.

Oh yea, coachman, too. Forgot about those.

Andreas wrote:
I am a big fan of soft hackles. Grey Hackle Peacock, March Brown Spider, Partridge and Pheasant Tail, Partridge and Green, Starling and Purple... just a few of my favorite soft hackles.

I would never be caught without a couple more traditional wets. Leadwing Coachman, Cowdung, Alder, Light & Dark Hendricksons.

That would be pretty close to my list as well, with addition of Partridge and Orange, a Light Cahill and maybe a Wickham's Fancy.

Parmachene Belle for brookies
Soft Hackle Pheasant Tail
Sheep Fly

I'd keep a few wet fly patterns handy for hatches- especially BWO and Sulphur Wets.

Hackle: grouse or partridge

Body: brown/tan (Hares ear)

Ribbing: Gold wire (optional)

IMHO, this is the best wet fly of all.

i agree with the above flies.

peacock and any hackle
partridge and orange,yellow ,green
stewart's spider