Using a Battenkill LA for Bluewater?

trevor

trevor

I am wondering if anyone has any experience with the Battenkill LA. Would you think them appropriate for tuna, marlin, etc.

The older versions don't have much backing capacity. Something to consider. The drags are also more suited to freshwater IMO.

Kev

the largest model would work for smaller tuna 100 lb or less, I have a medalist that I have used for year on smaller tuna and sails and it only holds 30 yds. of backing. marlin even small ones needs a good reel with a really good brake system

Thank you for your response. I only plan on using it for Tuna around 30 lbs. After seeing what a 100 lb tuna can do to conventional tackle... I would be very hesitant to try for one with anything but the very best fly tackle.

Any suggestions for a good, tough 13 wt rod?

No way a Old Orvis battenkill will handle a 30# tuna. I have extensive experience catching tuna from 10 pounds to over 400. I have caught atleast 75-100 tuna in the 25-50 pound class range most on Penn International 30 TW's spooled with 50# mono. A 30 pound tuna pulls and runs like nothing else. I would rate a 30 pound tuna against a 150 pound tarpon anyday. A 30# tuna will absolutely blow up a battenkill. It would take about 10 seconds and then you would have no drag. Tuna are no joke. You need something with atleast 200 yards of 50 pound backing, and something that can hold real drag pressure for a multiple long runs. The problem with the battenkill is the drag is extremely weak. They are OK for inshore stuff, pike musky etc. However to survive in the bluewater you need something built for it. Stick with Abel, Tibor, Penn International Reels etc. Atleast when you blow it up and have nothing to fish with after 10 seconds Orvis will replace it for you.

Agree with the above. I know for a fact that the gear required for off shore big game fly fishing is not affordable for me. A tuna will most likely mutilate the reel in seconds imo.