tying scissors

lv2nymph

lv2nymph

I've been using Kershaw skeeters at the vise and suddenly they no longer want to cut thread at the tips.The screw gets loose and when you tighten them enough for the blades to run together the are to tight, just does not seem to be any middle ground left with them. Really they are a little short but they work, I keep them in my hand while tying so the finger holes gotta be big enough, they need to be long enough not to poke me between thumb and pointer finger. I don't like any of the ones I can get local so I'm looking to be able to test fit a bunch at Sumerset. What kinds do you find works best for your needs at the vise?

I like my Dr. Slick "Razor" scissors and Anvil stainless mini "Ice" scissors.

I love the anvil curved micro tipped ones for tiny stuff. Got a Dr. Slick 3 pack set for the other stuff. Also keep a knock off Pakistani pair for chopping the wire, Faux fur, etc.

Ive been using a pair of these sixth finger scissors for about 2 years now (the stainless model). The point is fine enough for pretty much anything and they are sharp. I touched up the edge once maybe 5 months ago. I have an older pair of unknown brand scissors that I use to do things like cut deer hair off the hide, but otherwise I use the sixth fingers for everything. The great thing is that they are so comfortable I forget I have them in my hand.
Mike.

I've never seen those before, I like the way they look like they will sit in hand. I'd really like to check them out to see if they'll fit on the ol digit. I've never tied without scissors in hand, some are more comfotable than others for me but even without a perfect fit you can get used to them. It would be fantastic to have a pair that don't feel like you have to "hold" them. Thanks Mike